Look Who’s Back

Smokey and Misty traded farms, but after about a week, my neighbor called and said she was concerned that Smokey might escape. He’s quite clever and knows his way around, under and through lots of fencing. And maybe he missed us. So, at the end of the first week, I arranged to meet up with Darlene on the road, and I brought Smokey “home,” to my daughter’s delight. The mares were also delighted to see Smokey. We’ve decided that within his 36″ tall pony body there lies a debonair 17 hand stallion.

IMG_3486

Smokey spots the barn and his mistresses.

IMG_3489

Smokey neighs to the mares and they answer back!

IMG_3491

He’s getting closer…and the girls are excited!

IMG_3490

Is it really him?!

I put Smokey in the pasture next to the mares, so they could greet each other. I wondered if Misty and Foxie might fight over him. There were a few squeals, but no major squabbles. ย The mares and Smokey settled down pretty quickly.

IMG_3492

Foxie says, “Welcome back, Smokey!”

IMG_3494

They decided to graze as close as possible to each other for a few minutes.

IMG_3495

Misty says, “Hey, I kinda like this little fellow.”

IMG_3493

Smokey says, “I’ll see you girls later. I’ve got to eat while my muzzle is off.”

 

6 Comments on “Look Who’s Back”

  1. gildasyverson says:

    Oh my goodness, what a tender story. I just love hearing about these animals. Who would have EVER thought it. I am beginning to appreciate horses and ponies and anything Equine. I wonder where that came from. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you so much for sharing this reunion with Foxie and Smokey and his introduction to Misty. You have a “real” horse farm over there, Ann, and I can’t wait to meet the two gals and one fellow!

    Like

    • gildasyverson says:

      Please note, that it is 9:50 pm, not 1:50 am. I don’t want to be accused of “grazing” around in the middle of the night (even though I’ve been known to do so). ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      • awcamp says:

        Ha! I can’t figure out the time thing on this blog….And, of course you would NEVER be grazing around so late. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

    • awcamp says:

      Can’t wait for you to meet all the horses, Gil. Sydney and I will love introducing you around. Thanks for your sweet comment.

      Like

  2. HippoLogic says:

    Smokey is so adorable! I hope one day my grey turns completely white.

    Like


Leave a Reply

