Riding Together

It’s been almost four months since we first brought horses back to the barn. While I’ve spent most of my life riding, training and taking care of horses, it’s been an exhilarating and fun experience sharing these amazing animals with my daughter. Sydney has always been an animal lover at heart, so falling in love and caring for horses came naturally to her. She listened and watched as I showed her how to do barn chores and was eager to take responsibility for them.

I started Sydney off with riding lessons on the lunge line, and she progressed quickly to lessons in the ring. (She had spent a week riding in Wyoming two years ago.) Β About a month ago, Foxie showed signs of needing additional training, so I realized we would need another horse for Sydney to ride during this time. My friend Jo knew about April and put us in contact with her owner. April sounded like she might be the right horse for us. But April was stabled outside of Charleston, SC. It just so happened that our family had a beach trip planned, and on the way home we were able to stop in, meet April and take a short ride. (It was 100 degrees, so we kept the ride VERY short!)

I didn’t realize it at the time, but the sixteen-year-old girl who showed us April was the daughter of my old friend Deirdra. A week and a half later, Deirdra trailered April up to our place. This week, for the first time since Wyoming, Sydney and I have been able to ride together. It has been such a treat!

IMG_4261

Sydney getting ready for her first ride on April.

IMG_4268

Taking a break to say hello to Dad.

IMG_4267

I got to ride too! Having fun training Foxie.

IMG_4263

Joel took a photo of both of us feeling relaxed and happy on our horses.

2 Comments on “Riding Together”

  1. Lyn Warren says:

    So wonderful!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  2. awcamp says:

    Thanks, Lynnie. I think of you so often as we’re immersed in “barn life.”

    Like


Leave a Reply

